Neil Geoffrey Turok, Founder of AIMS and Director of Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics Wins the John Wheatley Award

The American Physical Society has awarded Neil Turok with the John Wheatley Award for “visionary efforts to provide science and math training to young Africans, to help promote technological and socio-economic development on the continent.”

The John Wheatley Award named after one of the twentieth century pioneers of superfluids was established in 1991 with the support of Forum on International Physics.

The Award honors and recognises the dedication of physicists who have made contributions to the development of physics in countries of the third world. It consists of a stipend of $2 000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.

The award is presented biennially, every odd-numbered year, at the general meeting of the American Physical Society.

Neil will be presented with his award at the next major meeting, in Washington DC, at the end of January 2017.  He has decided to donate the prize money to AIMS to continue the search for the Next Einstein in Africa.

Further information to follow. For more about the John Wheatley Award, click here.